Billing Brook School

Curriculum Framework 6th Form

The curriculum in the 6th Form is built around 5 areas of learning:

      Literacy and Numeracy for life (inc Functional skills and ASDAN Life skills challenges)

Employability (Work skills, Work related learning, Enterprise, Options and Future planning)

Community Cohesion (RE, Current Affairs, Travel Training)

Health (PHSE, PE, Gym)

Independence (Life skills)

 All areas of learning have a strong focus on helping students to acquire and develop the skills they will need to make a successful transition into adulthood.

Individual subjects are grouped into one of the 5 areas of learning to ensure opportunities to embed skills across the curriculum are provided.

Our curriculum framework has breadth and depth which enables all to experience, learn and progress in preparation for adulthood.

In line with national requirements all students follow English and Math courses which are designed to help them build on their skills and to work towards higher levels of accreditation. This may be through Functional skills, OCR Life and Living or ASDAN Life Skills challenges (new from September 2019).

Students work on these accreditations at an aspirational level from Entry 1 to Level 2 depending on their individual needs. 

To see a visual representation of the areas of learning, please click the link below. 

6th Form Curriculum Framework (Please note this document is under review)